Planning Commission

The Dahlonega Planning Commission is composed of seven members. Members are appointed by the Governing Body. Four members present at a meeting constitute a quorum. One of the members is appointed annually as Chairman of the commission by the Planning Commission members, and the Chairman does not vote except in cases of a tie-vote between the other members. All members of the commission are city residents and serve a three year term. Regular meetings are held on the second Monday of each month at 6:00 pm at City Hall. Meetings are open to the public.

Historic Preservation Commission

Historic District Design Guidelines 2014

HPC Certificate of Appropriateness Application

The historical, cultural, and aesthetic heritage of the City of Dahlonega is among its most valued and important assets and the preservation of this heritage is essential to the promotion of the health, prosperity and general welfare of the people. The Historic District includes all properties located with the B3 and CBD zoning districts within the city limits.

The Dahlonega Historic Preservation Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor and ratified by the City Council. All members are required to be residents of the City of Dahlonega and shall be persons who have demonstrated special interests, experience or education in history, architecture or the preservation of historic resources. In addition, the Commission may appoint two ex-officio members who own property in the City limits, but who are not residents of the City of Dahlonega.

Adoption of Revised Design Guidelines

DSC 0063

The Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) adopted revised Dahlonega Design Guidlines at the March 19th meeting. The revised guidelines comply with the Department of Interior regulations (36 CFR Part 67, Historic Preservation Certifications).